A Major Arpeggio
A Major Arpeggio

An arpeggio is the notes in a chord played in a sequence, one after the other instead of simultaneously.

Arpeggios are usually introduced in Suzuki Book One starting with the key of A major, then D major, and then G major.  In Suzuki Book Two, students are introduced to D Minor, B Flat Major, and A Minor.

Practice of specific keys is generally pared with work on a piece in the same key until the key’s scales and arpeggios are mastered.  More advanced students will practice a scale and arpeggio each day rotating keys each days.  At first students play one and two octave scales, and gradually add in additional octaves as experience playing in multiple positions increases.

Here is a link to a two octave scales on

3 comments on “Arpeggios”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s